Two Tries for Philly Cheese Steak Stuffed Peppers

Lately I’ve been eating a lot of bread. Heard somewhere that’s not great for you or something. So I decided to avoid the many boxes of rice, noodles, pasta, as well as the bread and tortillas in my kitchen. Then I realized that I had no idea what to make for dinner, or how to make my craving for Philly Cheesesteaks come true. So like any good female looking for something to do, I went to Pinterest. (I read somewhere that 80 percent of Pinterest users are women.)

And there it was, like Monty Python’s crew looking for the Holy Grail (except that I didn’t find any rabbits with big, pointy teeth). A picture of a stuffed green pepper. Bingo!

So assembling the the ingredients began.

Steak, onion, green pepper, tomatoes, and (yes!) taco cheese. The holy trinity.. or uh, holy quintuple (?)

Sliced off the top of the green pepper, diced that up. Also diced up some onion and began to saute them in a pan.

The magic begins

And then when that got all happy in the pan, I added some thinly sliced beef and cooked that up.

Vegetarians, just look away. Look away.

When that was all perfectly cooked through. Off the stove it went into a bowl. I tossed that with some diced fresh Roma tomatoes (my favorite kind cause they don’t get all squishy when you cut them) and some of my famous shredded taco cheese. Into the make shift pepper bowl they went. (You’ll remember that I had cut off the top of the green pepper.)

One cookie sheet and low broil and the magic (or so I thought) of cooking began.

This was the beginning of what I thought was going to be an amazing meal. . .

So when the top browned and the cheese melted, I thought it was done and took it out.

Toasted to perfection (?)

Notice the browned cheese. I thought that meant done. Unfortunately, I opened it up and the pepper was still crisp and kinda cold. So instead of freaking out (which I totally contemplated at first), I put the half I had left back into the oven at 350 degrees for 20 minutes. Turns out if I had done that in the beginning, it would have been cooked through. So much for thinking you don’t have to read the instructions on recipes. Should have clicked through the Pinterest link.

But I did end up with this:

Finally, it’s done!

Moral, patience is a virtue. And twice baked peppers isn’t too bad.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

